Personal Logo Rough Draft

For the personal logo project I decided to create a logo that encompasses my passion for content creating, specifically videography and photography. As mentioned previously throughout my blog I am an aspiring digital media creator for a professional sports team and this logo is an accurate depiction of that goal. The first step of the creation process was brainstorming ideas to include my passion for sports, photography, and videography into my project. I didn’t really have a specific source of inspiration, my idea was mostly formed through the design of a camera and sport symbol. After coming up with the idea to combine sports and content creating I started by sketching several logos that included different film and photo symbols with sports symbols included in the design. Next, I chose a simple but appealing sketch that best represented my brand. I then took this logo and created it on Illustrator by adding square and circle shapes to make an outline of the emblem. Next, I used the pen tool to create the basketball within the lens of the camera. Lastly, I added the text, “Brewer Media” to tie the whole project together. I used design elements such as negative space and balance throughout the logo. The elements in my project include the creation of shapes and specifically the use of circles and squares. I also use the pen tool to create straight and curved lines in the basketball part of the design. I didn’t encounter any problems while using Adobe Illustrator because I have quite a bit of experience with the program. As far as sources go, I didn’t use any inspirations or source from the web to cite. After completing the draft, I feel like I have a good starting point to work off of to continue to improve as I progress through the process.

5 thoughts on “Personal Logo Rough Draft

Add yours

  1. Your logo is clean and minimal. There isn’t too much going on to take away from your message. The choice of font looks professional and the size is perfect. I really like the addition of “BB” on the camera. The classic look of black and white is one of my favorites when it comes to logos. However, I think a splash of color would make your logo pop a little. I would play around with bright color, like red, and place in the text or somewhere on the camera. I would personally change the color of the lenses and see how that looks. Another thing I would add is more details to the camera, such as more buttons, flash or a camera strap. I think that would take your design to the next level and impact the viewer’s standpoint. I am excited to see your final version of this design!

    Like

  2. I love your logo design! This is an awesome use of illustrator and I think you did an excellent job on brainstorming and figuring out what to create. I love the use of a basketball as the camera lens. Personally, I like the simplicity of your design. It doesn’t have too much going on but yet effectively outlines what your passions are. Your use of negative space and balance throughout the logo contribute well to this! The recommendations I would recommend would be to add some color. I would like to see how this design would look with color in the camera and the basketball. I feel like a gradient from light orange to darker orange would look really good in the basketball. Then a darker blue would contrast well with the orange. However, I do really love this design and cannot think of much on how to improve it! Well Done!

    Like

  3. Brock,

    Great logo! I love that you incorporated this camera through the use of simple shapes; it ties into the topic of photography/videography in media. Your logo could be stronger if you added a pop of color. In the readings, there is a video that talks about how some companies only have one letter out of place in terms of color so that your attention is drawn to that logo and so that you remember it more. Perhaps you could add color to the basketball portion or the camera itself. Another suggestion I have is to play around with textures and fills/gradients. This could make your logo more unique to you and your brand. That being said, I feel that you have a strong concept. The basketball and the camera are pieces you should keep in the design because they drive the whole brand you are going for. Overall this was a solid logo, and I cant wait to see the final product!

    Like

  4. Brock, I like how your design is simple and straight forward in regards to videos and photography sports media. I think with some adjustments, this design could pop out a lot more. First, I think you should move your name to above the camera so the design becomes more centered and the text borders it. I would add some kind of gradient or bright coloring behind the camera because it feels a bit plain right. The camera itself looks like a really cool design but it does not stick out and the logo design could use colors to give it a more unique look. Making the camera lens look like a basketball was a nice touch and I think adding other elements to it, such as other sports such as baseball and football would be interesting. Overall,nice work on the camera design and I think with some additions, this project will look great! Good luck on the rest of your logo project, looking forward to the final result!

    Like

  5. After reviewing my peer’s suggestions and critique I realize my project can be much better with a few small adjustments. First off I feel like I can change the BB into a more abstract and complex BB that gives the stylistic addition of negative space and usage of shapes. Another area I need to work on is the addition of color. By adding a splash of orange an/or blue I can really take my logo to the next level. Lastly, I would like to fix my font and text. I will likely play around with some more fonts in the coming days to give a more professional look to my design. With this, I will add shapes to make it more appealing as well. As of right now, I am proud of the draft I have completed and with the addition of a few changes from the feedback, I can make my logo a visual masterpiece for future clients and employers to see.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started