Video Project Rough Draft

Idea/Inspiration:

 While thinking of ideas for my video project I asked myself, what encompasses my time working at WSU Athletics? After some extensive thought and consideration I decided that the memorable moments of pure exhilaration and adrenaline filming Cougar athletes and their fans. Immediately I jotted down specific moments over the course of the past few months that I will remember for the rest of my life. To me, these are the memories that encompass my first few months here at WSU.

Pre-production: 

Starting off, I wrote out a script of narration that illustrated a specific message. I wanted this message to show my purpose of attending WSU and deciding to work with WSU Athletics. I jotted down specific memorable shots and experiences from this past semester. Then I decided to write corresponding narration to these specific memorable moments. In my narration I touched upon multiple sports I covered including football, volleyball, and basketball. My ultimate goal with the narration was to provide the viewer with an overview of the sports I’ve covered. 

Production:

After combing through different videos I have taken this semester I found a good mix of videos that showcase different sports across WSU. I specifically chose quite a few emotional shots that highlight the raw emotion of WSU athletics. Choosing music was the hardest part of the creation process because I found it hard to find a track that accentuates the memorable moments and compliments the narration well. Ultimately I decided on a cinematic and upbeat track that works relatively well. I found the royalty free music on APM music where I have a subscription and license to use music. 

Post-Production:

After compiling the several videos I filmed along with the narration I created I opened up Premiere and began to cut up the clips. I used the marker and blade tool to cut the videos and audio. I also used transitions such as cross dissolve and dip to black. I adjusted audio levels to allow the narration to be audible over the music. Lastly, I added my own personal logo created in this class as a finishing touch to the end of the video. 

Final Thoughts:

All in all, my project is at a solid starting point but still has a lot of room for improvement. I’m excited to see different suggestions from my peers on how I can improve my project. 

2 thoughts on “Video Project Rough Draft

Add yours

  1. Your video was very professionally done. I could tell from the first shot that you truly knew what you were doing and how to get the best shot. The clips of the sports were very well done, with different angles and different perspectives, allowing the viewer to stay engaged. My personal favorite shot was Gardner Minshew with the trophy, where his eyes followed your lens while you panned around him. The only thing that could possibly be improved would be to get a better clip of you speaking. Most likely the only way you could do this is by re-recording the audio in an on-campus lab. However, I don’t think this is a necessity and believe your video is great the way it is. If I were grading this project, I would have given this an A as a final. I don’t think you need to change anything and it can be turned in as a final.

    Like

  2. After reviewing the feedback from my peers, I am satisfied with where my draft is but i’m also excited to make some improvements and create a stellar final product. Currently, I along with my classmates, agree that I have a great selection of shots included in my video. I believe the widespread range of shots allow the viewer to see through the lens of what I have experienced as a WSU Athletics videographer these past few months. Along with this, the dialogue is well-written and gives the video purpose. The shots combined with the dialogue allows the video to almost be a promo for WSU Athletics. In that regard, the project directly relates to my topic of sports videography. As far as improvements go, there are several changes that need to be made in order for this to be a solid project. First off, as mentioned by my peers and after watching the video again I realized the audio from the dialogue sounds awful and needs to be recorded again. It sounds like I am in hallway and the sound is not very clear. Another adjustment I will make for my final draft is ending the project better, possibly with a better logo or a different effect. With these adjustments I believe I will have a professional and unique final project.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started