Video Final Draft

Creative Process:

Before starting this project I had to ask myself, what type of video could illustrate the time I’ve spent as WSU Athletics videographer. After looking at some footage I have taken over the past few months I decided to put together a video that showcased some of the best memories I have captured while working as a video intern for WSU athletics. I started by making a list of the best shots of the year that I have taken. I scoured through a multitude of my own footage from several different sports to find the most exhilarating and adrenaline pumping shots. Only a video highlighting each and every memorable experience of my journey encompasses my time on the job.

Pre-production:

After finding my best clips I decided to write dialogue that directly correlated to each shot. I wrote the dialogue to be repetitive in an attempt to emphasize my appreciation for the opportunities I’ve had while working. Next, I recorded the audio on my phone using the voice memos app in my dorm room. After that I selected an audio track from the music database, APM Music. Every employee of the WSU video staff receives a free licensing subscription to APM music in which each person can use the music for personal and/or commercial use royalty free. 

Production:

After compiling my clips, recording my narration, and finding my audio track it was finally time to edit. While in premiere I cut the clips using the marker and razor tools to get accurate and precise cuts. I also took advantage of key frames to fade audio in and out. I used a few effects such as dip to black and cross dissolve to make the video look a bit more professional.

Revision process:

After reviewing some of my peers’ feedback and reevaluating my rough draft, I found a few areas of much needed improvement. First off, the audio I recorded for my narration sounded extremely raspy, likely a result of filming in my dorm room. While revising my rough draft I re-recorded this audio in a quiet conference room which sounded much better. Another revision I made was color correcting the footage in order to get a relatively consistent look throughout the video. I also changed my audio track as I found music that better suited the inspirational mood of the video. The last change I made was to add a different logo to the end of the video. This logo is much simpler and easier for the viewer to understand.

Final thoughts:

After making a few adjustments from my rough draft I feel like my video is now a professional and creative final product. The video has purpose and meaning behind it that highlight my time as a WSU videographer.

Below is the link to the licensed royalty free music. 

https://www.apmmusic.com/albums/DED-0204

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started